When Bearsden Chess Club was reformed in 1966, Cecil Dallaston donated a trophy cup to the club "for annual competition". Each year the club has held a tournament to determine the best player, with the winner holding the Cup for the following year. The club championship is open to all club members.

Club Championship Grading Prize winners

Along with a First Prize there is also a Grading Prize for the individual who has performed furthest above their grade in the competition. This often goes to a (J) junior "Giant-killer" but occasionally to far older members who had a great performance, e.g. Founder-member Geoff Parbrook in 2009

Prior to 2002 the prizes were for grades < 1700 and < 1300 and a separate Junior Championship

Year	Winners	Year	Winners
1967 to 72	No Grading or Junior contests	2000	????
1973	(J Champ: C Day)	2001	Alistair Goodall (J Champ Ivan Stokes)
1974	(J Champ: C Gosling)	2002	lan MacGregor (J)
1975	(J Champ: Stuart Callison)	2003	Ivan Stokes (J)
1976	(J Champ: C Gosling)	2004	Joe Dyer (J)
1977	(J Champ: Ian Kidd)	2005	Billy Humphries
1978	(J Champ: Colin Gibson)	2006	Ian MacGregor (J)
1979	(J Champ: D Galbraith)	2007	Douglas MacGregor
1980	(J Champ: Alec Nisbet)	2008	Simon Kerridge
1981	(J Champ: Alan Gibson)	2009	Geoff Parbrook
1982	(J Champ: Alan Gibson)	2010	Stuart Callison
1983	(J Champ: M Samson)	2011	Thomas McFadyen (J)
1984	(J Champ: David Khan)	2012	Tony McAlister & Simon Kerridge
1985	(J Champ: M Aplin & M Wilks)	2013	Sambhav Chadha (J)
1986	(J Champ: G Inverarity & M Wilks)	2014	Simon Kerridge
1987	Bernard Bailleul / D Herring J Ch: Brian Mcfarlane	2015	Alex Moody
1988	P Moss / J Stone (J Champ: Timothy Luffingham)	2016	Callum McCue
1989	Mel Burt / Ian Richardson (J Ch: Brian McFarlane)		John McEwen (J)
1990	Stuart McFarlane/ Rose Shedden (J Ch:B McFarlane)	2018	Pete McEwen
1991	Bill Cameron /Geoff Parbrook (J Ch:B McFarlane)	2019	Stuart Callison
1992	Mel Burt / Rose Shedden (J Ch: Brian McFarlane)	2020	Alistair Goodall (Junior Champ: Jimmy Lin)
1993	J Ward / A Horne (J Champ: Brian McFarlane)	2021	** None** (Covid halt)
1994	Alistair Goodall / Ian Dyer (J Ch: B McFarlane)	2022	Domenic Quinn
1995	lan Dyer / Mike McGowan(J Ch: Brian McFarlane)	2023	Ishan Kumar
1996	lan Dyer (J Champ: N Chapman)	2024	Ishan Kumar, Mel Burt + (J Champ Alvaro Rosales)
1997	R Pitts& Bill Cameron (J Ch:C Manson & A Horne)		
1998	????		
1999	????		