When Bearsden Chess Club was reformed in 1966, Cecil Dallaston donated a trophy cup to the club "for annual competition". Each year the club has held a tournament to determine the best player, with the winner holding the Cup for the following year. The club championship is open to all club members.

Club Champions

The list of winners is a veritable who's who of some of the best players in the club: (excluding of course our two titled players GM Jacob Aagaard and IM Andrew Greet who could probably join this list but have so far just contented themselves with winning the British and Scottish Championships)

Year	Winners	Year	Winners
1967	I. Fisher	1998	Jeff Webb
1968	D.B.A. Hunter	1998	Jeff Webb
1969	D.B.A. Hunter	1999	David McElroy
1970	Alan Borwell	2000	Mel Burt
1971	A. McKirdy	2001	Jeff Webb
1972	A. McKirdy	2002	Mel Burt, Jeff Webb & Alistair Compton
1973	Geoff Parbrook	2003	Alistair Compton
1974	G.A. Wallace	2004	Jeff Webb & Mel Burt
1975	lain S. Campbell	2005	Trevor Davies
1976	Ronald Mongredien	2006	Jeff Webb
1977	Ronald Mongredien	2007	Tom Borland
1978	Ronald Mongredien	2008	Jeff Webb
1979	Colin Gibson	2009	Mike Dyer
1980	Colin Gibson	2010	Tom Borland & Ian MacGregor
1981	Colin Gibson, A. Holloway & G.G. Hood	2011	Goetz Bucher
1982	Colin Gibson	2012	lan MacGregor
1983	David Watt	2013	Mel Burt
1984	Roger Walker	2014	Stuart White & Mel Burt
1985	David Watt	2015	Goetz Bucher
1986	David Watt	2016	Goetz Bucher
1987	David Watt	2017	Goetz Bucher
1988	David Watt	2018	Rob Colston
1989	Roger Walker	2019	Stuart White & David Watt
1990	D.R. Thomson	2020	Rob Colston (only 4 rounds due to Covid halt)
1991	Colin Gibson	2021	Rob Colston (10 Chess.com online games)
1992	Jeff Webb	2022	Goetz Bucher, Rob Colston & Stuart Callison
1993	Roger Walker	2023	Rob Colston
1994	Roger Walker & Tom Borland	2024	Rob Colston
1995	Roger Walker		
1996	David Watt		
1997	David Watt & Jeff Webb		